

H. G. SALOMON, President of L. A. Salomon & Bro., Inc., has just returned from Europe, where he was guest of N. V. Norit, of Norit Activated Carbon. Norit are the original producers of activated carbon in the world. L. A. Salomon introduced its use to the American industry, representing Norit for the last 50 years. Mr. Salomon also visited Sud-Chemie AG, in Munich, Germany, whom L. A. Salomon represent on activated earths.

H. G. Salomon

J. J. WELDON, Bessire and Company, Inc., has been named President by the Board of Directors of the Dairy and Food Industries Supply Association, at the group's 20–22 annual meeting in Houston, Texas. J. J. Weldon succeeds G. L. Huffman, Ex-Cell-O Corporation who, in accordance with Association custom, has retired after two years' presidency. The Board also elected Joe Larson, Sparta Brush Co., Vice President and R. E. Cairns, Waukesha Foundry, Treasurer. Mr. Larson is a first-time officer; Mr. Cairns enters his 16th year as Treasurer.

C. J. GIULIANI has been elected a Corporate Vice President of Universal Oil Products Company, Des Plaines, Ill. He continues as President of the UOP Process Division.

Drew Chemical Corporation has named PETER KALUSTIAN (1945), a vice president, to head operations of the St. Louis, Missouri, edible oil refinery of its Drew Foods subsidiary. Drew Chemical is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Slick Corporation. In this new responsibility, Mr. Kalustian succeeds JOHN PETERSON (1963) who has resigned as an executive vice president of Drew Chemical.

R. W. VAN TUYLE (1948), president of The Slick Corporation, today announced the election of M. E. REINER, 52, as president and chief operating officer of Slick's wholly-owned subsidiary, Drew Chemical Corporation. Mr. Van Tuyle, who had been Drew's president, simultaneously was elected to chairman and chief executive officer of the subsidiary.

David Forss, Director of Flavor Research at International Flavors & Fragrances (IFF-R & D), Union Beach, New Jersey, has been awarded the degree of Doctor of Applied Science by the University of Melbourne for his research on the flavors of dairy products. Dr. Forss was previously in charge of flavor research at the Division of Dairy Research, C.S.I.R.O., Highett, Victoria, Australia.

A. H. JOHNSON, retired President and Director of the Research and Development Division of the National Dairy Products Corporation, has become associated with Lowry-Cocroft Abstracts, Evanston, Ill., as consultant in food processing. He will assist in the publication of their Food Processing Abstracts and Food Service Research Abstracts.

J. E. DUESING has been elected vice president and general sales manager of The Foxboro Company, Ltd., Montreal, Quebec, Canada. He succeeds E. R. HUCKMAN, who has retired after serving the company for 40 years in Canada and the United States.

H. M. ANDERSON has been appointed Senior Staff Engineer for Chevron Chemical Company, announces John Blickman, Chief Engineer. In his new position, Mr. Anderson will conduct and direct economic and engineering evaluation work on major chemical projects, domestic and foreign.



JAMES EVANS, chiarman of the Chemurgic Council (Council for Agricultural and Chemurgic Research), has recently announced the election and appointment of W.S. COLVIN as the new president of the Chemurgic Council. Mr. Colvin is vice-president of sales of Allied Chemical Corporation, Agricultural Division. He is a graduate of the University of Rhode Island and received a Master of Science degree from the University of Massachusetts. He has been active in chemurgic activities and became a

W. S. Colvin

member of the Boad of Directors of the Chemurgic Council in 1967.

BETTY SULLIVAN, Vice President of Experience Incorporated, was honored at their recent San Antonio convention with Honorary Life Membership in the Millers National Federation.

While Vice President and Director of Research with the Peavey Company of Minneapolis, Dr. Sullivan was an active member of the Federation, serving as Chairman of their Technical Advisory committee for ten years. The Life Membership award was in recognition of her notable contributions both to the Millers' organization and to the milling industry in general.

The appointment of J. C. EVANS of Midland, Mich., as a Research Scientist of The Dow Chemical Company was announced by J. E. Johnson, Director of Research and Development. Dr. Johnson said that Dr. Evans was being recognized for his original research into the structure of molecules and ions by means of spectroscopy. He has utilized, and contributed to the development of, Raman spectroscopy as well as infrared, ultraviolet, fluorescence and nuclear quadrupole resonance spectroscopy.

HARRY ISACOFF, Director of Cosmetic Research and Development, International Flavors and Fragrances-U.S. was elected President-elect of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists for the year 1968. He previously served the Society in the capacity of Director and Secretary.

The Federation of Societies for Paint Technology is pleased to announce that F. W. BILLMEYER, JR., Professor of Analytical Chemistry at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, N.Y., will present the Joseph J. Mattiello Memorial Lecture at the 46th Annual Meeting of the Federation to be held at the Coliseum in New York, from Oct. 23–25, 1968. The subject of his lecture will be "Molecular Structure and Polymer Properties."





Harry Isacoff

F. W. Billmeyer